"Phantom Gate"- XY4 (Japan)

Discussion in 'Pokemon TCG News & Gossip' started by Floral, Jun 23, 2014.

  1. Otaku

    Otaku Well-Known Member

    Wouldn't it have to be either T2 or T3 since you can't attack T1?

    Not trying to be a jerk; I know I've made a fuss about wording before, but it just seems easier to use overall turn counts anymore instead of "first turn of the player going second".


    No? It's just me? Okay, carry on then. >.>
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2014
    Floral likes this.
  2. stmlacek1

    stmlacek1 rouge specialist

    The card says it only works for pyshic pokemon so turn 1 emarled slash is not happening
  3. KPiplup

    KPiplup An Imposter

    Mew EX.
    hfechhelm likes this.
  4. baby_mario

    baby_mario Doesn't even care

    Sorry, but if stm says it's not happening, it's not happening.

    Put your Mews back in the binder.
    hfechhelm likes this.
  5. hfechhelm

    hfechhelm The Swarm

    I was soo excited!
  6. Otaku

    Otaku Well-Known Member

    Of course T1 Emerald Slash can't happen: no attacks can happen T1. XD


    Yes, I am making this joke again. I am hoping that if you can accept it as a joke, maybe it will one day be accepted as the actual, default terminology so simple folk like myself don't get confused.

    I is sneaky. ;)
    Phoenix15 and themiraclemeat like this.
  7. themiraclemeat

    themiraclemeat Active Member


    This Pokémon can use the attacks of any Pokémon in play (both yours and your opponent's). (You still need the necessary Energy to use each attack.)

    Dimensional Ravine
    The attacks of each [​IMG] Pokémon in play are reduced by [​IMG].

    I think a question to Poke-pop is needed to solve this issue.
  8. baby_mario

    baby_mario Doesn't even care

    Mew is still a Psychic Pokemon, and it is using the attacks of other Pokemon as its own attack, so I would expect Dimensional Ravine to reduce the cost.

    The Stadium has the effect of reducing the necessary Energy for Psychic Pokemon.

    ATRT won't give a ruling until a card is officially released, but that's what I would expect.
  9. Otaku

    Otaku Well-Known Member

    Hmm... now that @themiraclemeat explained his concerns, they aren't entirely groundless; if the English wording implies something like "attack cost written on the card" or the like, then it would not work.
  10. ThePirateKingAtomsk

    ThePirateKingAtomsk Red Haze Stalker

    I think this is a matter of common sense, like baby said.

    I highly don't mew is gonna miss out on this effect.

    I'm however very torn on whether I could give Trevenant a try again with this new set.
    Phoenix15 likes this.
  11. Otaku

    Otaku Well-Known Member

    This is a TCG: common sense does not apply. Almost everything we deal with is a "skin" on top of abstract game mechanics; when common sense says they should work a certain way, game mechanics are just as likely to work the opposite, less the amount of times they work in yet a different manner than either. ;)

    When I stated I wanted the English text, I meant it; while even that isn't foolproof, the official translation is usually accurate enough to gauge such things. Thing of the other rulings that have been made for Versatile, where the wording has proven a good indicator of what was eventually made official; G Booster isn't a Pokémon so its attack isn't copied, Mew-EX may be able to use Round via Versatile but as the Ability doesn't actually "write" the attack onto the card it doesn't boost the damage of Round, etc. If you go all the way back to Sabrina's Alakazam you can see a card that does write the attacks it copies to itself.
    themiraclemeat and baby_mario like this.
  12. baby_mario

    baby_mario Doesn't even care

    You always have to remember 3 things when you try and anticipate rulings.

    1. We are working with fan translations, not official card text.

    2. It is not always easy to translate Japanese subtleties into unambiguous English. Not even for the official translators.

    3. Pokemon in the Nintendo era operates under a 'play as intended' principle, NOT 'play as written' (like it did under WotC). This means that analysing the textual meaning(s) (even with official text, sometimes) won't always guide you to the eventual ruling. We will play the card the way the Japanese designers want us to. How that impacts Mew in this case remains to be seen.

    Point 2 is also the reason why it's futile to sit there trying to be clever with your rule-contradicting textual analysis. Yes, I've seen people do it, thinking themselves so smart, and then feeling a massive sense of injustice when they get slapped down.
    Otaku likes this.
  13. Otaku

    Otaku Well-Known Member

    I will be honest enough to mention that baby_mario could have legitimately included an @Otaku reference there; I also made the mistake of trying to think through Pokémon rulings with "reality checking", though I think that was only when I was very new to the online community. My other major gaming hobby at the time was GURPS, which encouraged such things a tabletop role-playing system is of course an entirely different beast from a TCG with Organized Play.