Rarities and B-Sides: Rogue Decisions on the Micro Level

Discussion in 'UG Article Talk' started by eriknance, Dec 19, 2013.

1. eriknance

eriknance Member

2. kittelsonburke

kittelsonburke New Member

Wow. Beautifully written and immensely helpful.

(“thou shalt play 4 Professor Juniper, 4 N, and 4 Skyla, and thou shalt hope thou hast enough cash for Tropical Beaches”) Nice.
  3. Parenting101

Parenting101 Active Member

Great article as always Erik! I have only been playing for a couple of years now, but this has been my favourite time. There isn't 1 or even 2 decks that are winning every tournament. Like you said, the creativity that is coming out in deck building is awesome!
  4. Xarsah16

Xarsah16 Rogue Class Deck Builder

I joined 6P to read this article. Well done. :) I'm currently trying to help a friend out with deck editing (I am by no means a pro, but I do have more experience) so this really helps.

I still have issues trying to narrow and skeleton things, so how does one figure out what is needed vs what is not? I understand anything that doesn't further the strategy of the deck is unnecessary, but that feels difficult to apply when the pokemon make up most of the strategy.
  5. thematteo0

thematteo0 The quintessentially British gentleman.

If you ever get stuck on making a skeleton list for a deck then a really quick and easy way of making one is to find as many lists as you can (probably about 6 +) for the same deck and note down the cards that appear in every one of those lists as these will be the staple cards in the deck (if one list is considerably different to the others, then maybe find some more information about the list and who wrote it to make sure you aren't just looking at a really bad list).